From parks and beaches, boating and snow skiing (yes, you read that right, we have snow on our mountain in this heat) to the mall and the movie theater I'm wondering when it became appropriate attire to shop, snow ski and attend a movie in the equivalent to bra and panties?
Am I just getting old or what?!
Don't answer that.
Residing in the state of the infamous "naked bike ride" I should not be surprised but why???
Why would anyone want to disrobe, no matter how hot they are, or think they are, to jump on a little tiny bike seat and let it all hang out?
Having this discussion with my family a couple years ago while being stopped in traffic for 15 minuets by the unfortunate policeman, who clearly drew the short straw for that shift, we had to watch, through parted fingers, the 13 thousand bicyclists.
Who were naked.
Again, why???
My daughter listed a few reasons why this would not (phew!) be something she would ever partake in.
1. Eeeewww
2. Nakedness and a bike seat. Have you seen the size of those seats?
3. Eeeewww
4. What if there was a crash....naked people, bikes with pokey things all over, naked people piling up on the pavement, you get the picture.
5. Eeeewww
6. The media is there, documenting the entire thing forever!
7. Eeeewww
What is the obsession with being naked in public? I just don't get it! Perhaps some people do it as a dare or see it as a badge of honor or find it liberating. Whatever it is though, I will never understand.
I'm still a bit surprised to see someone in public in their pajamas!
Not having any photos that would appropriately go along with this post, I opted for this sweet little bike.

No comments:
Post a Comment